Image

Rainbow Italian Ice on the Brooklyn Bridge

20140621-205315-75195667.jpg

Today I walked across the Brooklyn Bridge. One of the many things I have always wanted to do. The view was absolutely breathtaking but I would say to watch out for the bikers because they ride fast and they’re very aggressive. They have their own side of the pathway but they still manage to be rude to the pedestrians. Regardless! It’s a definite must. If you live in the area and haven’t gone, you really should. It’s great exercise and an even better view!

Here’s an easy Italian Ice recipe:
Ingredients:
3 cups halved strawberries or chopped pineapple
2 tablespoons sugar
2 tablespoons honey
1 tablespoon fresh lemon juice

Directions:
Blend the fruit, sugar, honey, and lemon juice with 2 cups ice in a food processor or blender until chunky.
Add another 1 cup ice and blend until completely smooth.
Pour mixture into shallow baking dish and freeze for 30 minutes.
Scrape ice with fork until slushy, then freeze until firm (approx. 2 more hours).
Scoop into paper cups to serve.

2 responses to “Rainbow Italian Ice on the Brooklyn Bridge

  1. I got to walk across the bridge back in December for the first time. I have yet to do it again but I wish I could walk it again for the first time. It took my breath away.

    • This was my first time walking across but I would definitely do it again. Although I haven’t walked it during the wintertime, I strongly recommend walking it during the spring/summer months. There’s a great little area right off the bridge with a park right by the water. If you go again I would love to hear about it. Keep up the great work on your page and thank you so much for the comment!

Leave a Reply

